What’s next for CSKA Moscow?


The last time CSKA Moscow won the Euroleague title was back in the 2007-2008 season when they were led by Ettore Messina, the Italian coach that managed to bring the Russian side four times to the finals and win two titles in the process. Back then they had players like Theodoros Papaloukas, Nikos ZisisMatjaž Smodiš, Ramūnas Šiškauskas, J. R. HoldenDavid AndersenTrajan Langdon, Alexey Shved, and Victor Khryapa among others on their roster.

[su_button url=”http://www.interbasket.net/forums/” target=”blank” style=”soft” size=”3″ wide=”no” center=”no” icon=”icon: comments-o”]Discuss this on our forum[/su_button]

CSKA Moscow was back to the Euroleague Final Four this year, but failed to keep a commanding league in the semi-finals against Olympiacos who proved to be an un-matching opponent for Real Madrid in the finals. This was the first year for head coach Dimitrios Itoudis in charge of the Russian side and it seems like his inexperience was crucial for the loss against Olympiacos.


With a roster consisted out of players like Nando de Colo, Milos Teodosic, Aaron Jackson, Sonny Weems, Victor Khryapa, Kyle Hines and Andrei Kirilienko winning the national championships is just not enough. CSKA Moscow is a rich team that won the national championship 13 seasons in a row, but it seems like there will be some crucial changes after this summer, especially in the coaching department.

[su_youtube_advanced url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_6wrrgXzGY” width=”460″ height=”340″]

Leave a Reply