Mexico, Argentina undefeated in 2015 Americas Basketball Championships

FIBA Americas 2015 jugadores

The 2015 FIBA Americas Championship for Men is the Olympic qualifying tournament for basketball where the two teams that meet in the championship game will qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympics.


The former “Tournament of Americas” is currently being played in Mexico City, Mexico. The continental championship began on August 31 and will proceed to the title game on September 12, 2015.

Discuss the 2015 FIBA Americas Championship in our forum

Going into the second round, hosts Mexico haven’t lost in their four games; the only undefeated team in Group A.

In Group B, Argentina is undefeated, pulling out a 94-87 win over a balanced second-place Canadian team.

Those teams that finish in places #3-5 in the tournament will move to the 2016 FIBA World Olympic Qualifying Tournament for another chance at a bid for the 2016 Olympics.

Those Americas teams that qualify for the Games in Rio will join FIBA Americas United States, who qualified by winning Gold in the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup. Team USA was given a choice to participate in the FIBA Americas tournament but declined.


There are 10 teams participating in the 2015 Americas tournament are Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cuba, The Dominican Republic, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Even without the global star power of the United States roster, there are many well-known jugadores participating in this tournament including Luis Scola, J.J. Barea, Francisco Garcia, Andres Nocioni, Gustavo Ayon, Jorge Gutierrez and Edgar Sosa. Canada boasts several NBA players on their roster: Andrew Wiggins, Cory Joseph, Andrew Bennett, Kelly Olynyk, Nik Stauskas, Robert Sacre, Andrew Nicholson and Dwight Powell.

Talk FIBA Americas Basketball Championship in our forum

Leave a Reply