SEABA: Pilipinas repeat, defeats Indonesia 98-68

Medan, Indonesia – The Philippines are champions once again, defeating Iindonesia 96-68 in the SEABA title game (discuss).  

After a tighly contested first quarter, the defending champions would cruise to a 98-68 win over hosts Indonesia to claim the 8th Southeast Asian Basketball Association (SEABA) crown at the Angkasapura Lanud Basketball Hall.

At the end of the first period, Powerade Team Pilipinas was tied with Indonesia at 22 points a piece but, the RP cagers would outscore Indonesia by 14 in the second quarter to go into halftime with a 46-32 advantage.

Despite poor shooting, James Yap and the Philippines would eventually put away their opponents to repeat as SEABA champions. 

The champions went undefeated in their four games, defeating opponents by a Dream Team-eqsue 36 points per game, including a 48 point blowout of Singapore.

Indonesia has now placed second in the last three SEABA championships (2005, 2007, 2009) while the Philippines took home their sixth title in the seven tournaments that they have participated in (Philippines were banned by FIBA from the 2005 tourney).

Up next?   The 2009 FIBA Asia Championships.

With the win, the Philippines have secured one of the two slots for the qualifying tournament later this year. Asiabasket, as it is also known, will be held in Taijin, China (August 06-16, 2009). 

Indonesia also earned a spot by placing second in the SEABA.

Links and Resources: Team Pilipinas routs Indons to rule SEABA (, SEABA 2009 Championships in Medan Indonesia (Interbasket)  2009 SEABA Championships (Interbasket Forum), PBA National Team at 2009 SEABA (Interbasket), Pilipinas Basketball Forum (Interbasket), 2009 FIBA Asia Championships (Interbasket)

Leave a Reply