PDA

View Full Version : Matt´s Costa Rica Thread

mvblair
07-11-2008, 12:46 AM
In 1999, I studied Latin American history at the National University of Costa Rica. I was struggling in my classes, so I took a basic dance class to boost my grades. On the day of the final exam (yes, this dance class had a final exam…thank goodness it was pass/fail), my big German partner neglected to come to class. The professor said that if I couldn’t find a partner, I would fail the class. Quickly, I stepped outside the room and asked the first girl I saw to dance with me. That beautiful girl, Rocío, became my wife in 2007. I´m attaching a picture of us from last year, when we went to the Ruins of the Cartago Cathedral.

As a teacher, I’ve had the pleasure of visiting Costa Rica for 3 months of the year. This year, I finally decided to write about my feelings for Costa Rica. Consider this thread my cheap attempt to win some 2008 InterBasket.Net award. I really want an award this year. :D

My wife lives in a little pueblo called San Pedro, which is between Santa Barbara and Alajuela for those of you with Google Earth. It´s a delightful, quiet town. I absolutely love it here, despite what my posts might say.

mvblair
07-11-2008, 12:50 AM
Wildlife in Costa Rica is poorly represented in tourist books. I don’t know where those writers get their information, but it is certainly not based on a visit to San Pedro. Wildlife here starts and ends with roosters, a menagerie in between.