Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paying for team budgets in Israel

Hello,

I recently worked in Israel for a few months and had the pleasure of attending a Ra'anana women's basketball game while there.
    I am also a student studying the business of sport and had a question about that team and women's basketball in general.

I noticed that all fans got into the game for no charge, so I was wondering if you had any idea how the Ra'anana municipality/owners of the team manage to pay for payroll costs.
    I assume these costs average $35000 US per player, so given that this is approximately $400 000 US for the entire team, how does this manage to work out to everyone's benefit?

I imagine based on the 200-300 people that attended the game I was at in Ra'anana last year (vs. Deanna Nolan and Anda Ramat Hasharon), sponsors and the broadcast rightsholders would not pay very much.
    My estimate would be that the city/Israeli government pays at a minimum 75% of these costs, which ends up being quite substantial based on the level of interest from fans.
    I wonder how they can justify this large cost.

Thanks for your help (Todah Rabah)!

except for one and a half team, basketball in Israel is not a Business, Its like Jewelery for the municipalities mayors, Bread and circuses stuff. If the mayor wants It-there will be a team (like in ramle). If not, no team.

Comment

Originally posted by ArnoldPettybone
      except for one and a half team, basketball in Israel is not a Business, Its like Jewelery for the municipalities mayors, Bread and circuses stuff. If the mayor wants It-there will be a team (like in ramle). If not, no team.
      I generally agree, but you can also add businessmen who like to toy around with the teams, in addition to the mayors. Anyway in both cases there is no profit (as also in local football BTW). It seems that the local market is just too small to cover the expenses of the teams.

Oh - and welcome aboard, manly.