Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How can the Lithuanian basketball program be improved?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can the Lithuanian basketball program be improved?

What needs to be done to improve Lithuanian basketball? Should Arvydas Sabonis be encouraged, even tempted, to have more sons or are there other concrete steps that might be taken?

I'm no expert in Lithuanian basketball but from what I have noticed, the Lithuanian basketball program needs to work on finding and developing a few excellent level caliber of point guards (aka....Jasikevičius 2.0 ).

It's easier said than done though... And if Lithuania doesn't have the right program to do so they can emulate other countries programs that have successfully been able to produce the best point guards... I don't know whether Jasikevičius and Pocius playing in the U.S has helped them develop their ball handling skills and had they stayed in Lithuania would they have become the players that they are...

Comment

Excellent topic, my friend. I always thought about writing blog entry on purpose to share my thoughts but I have so much of them so I may forget some....but what firstly comes to my mind:

1) All Lithuania has in basketball is not because of youth coaches, it's because of kids who want to become ball players...youth coaches are terrible - not only about technics of basketball, but about psychology, too. And those more advanced coaches, who do their stuff quite well, should try to develop their players' individual skills because right now coaches usually work on playing sets and stuff like this.